Date:21/09/2007 URL:



A treat for music lovers

—Photo: S. Ramesh Kurup

Making melody: Playback singer Minmini and music director Johnson singing at a music programme in connection with the Mullasserry Raju Music Award ceremony in Kozhikode on Wednesday.

Music lovers thronged the Suryakanthi Kalyana Mandapam, Tali, Kozhikode, on Wednesday night to watch the fifth Mullassery Raju Music Award ceremony.

Music director Johnson, who won the award for the best Malayalam song, Enthe kannanu karuppu niram… (‘Photographer’), rendered the duet with Manjari much to the delight of the audience. The original soundtrack had Manjari rendering the melodious number with K.J. Yesudas.

Kaithapram, who had penned the lyrics, and Ranjan Pramod, director of ‘Photographer,’ watched them from the front row of the gallery. It was Ranjan Pramod who was instrumental in Johnson’s comeback to the scene after a self-imposed four-year exile.

The musical nite featured mainly Johnson’s compositions.

Madhu Balakrishnan, Minmini, Gayatri, Satheesh Babu and Sindhu Premkumar were the other singers who shared the limelight.

Manjari rendered Kesadipadam… (originally sung by S. Janaki for the film ‘Pakalkinavu’), Rajahamsame… (K.S. Chitra, ‘Chamayam’) and Ponnil kulichu… (K.S. Chitra, ‘Sallapam’). Madhu Balakrishnan sand the duet Ponnil… with Mnjari. He also rendered the song Pathirappullunarnnu… from the film ‘Ee Puzhayum Kadannu.’

Roopesh, Dhanesh, Sree Sankar Suresh, Sunil, Sadhika, Sreedevi Krishnan, Aiswarya and Swathi also sang some of Johnson’s masterpieces.

The highlight of the evening was Johnson’s rendition of the popular Hindi song from the 1960s, Chahoonga mein tujhe… (‘Dosti’). “It’s my favourite song,” said the music director.

Johnson received the award from actor Suresh Gopi at the function. Directors Jayaraj, Lal Jose and Ranjith, lyricists Gireesh Puthencherry, script-writer T.A. Razak and District Collector A. Jayathilak spoke on the occasion.

P.K. Ajithkumar

© Copyright 2000 - 2009 The Hindu