Date:16/04/2005 URL:


Panel of Chief Ministers to tackle naxalite violence

Special Correspondent

NEW DELHI: A committee of Chief Ministers of naxal violence States will be constituted to initiate and pursue a coordinated approach in tackling the extremist violence and activity. The committee, to be headed by the Union Home Minister, Shivraj Patil, will have nine Chief Ministers.

The decision to form the high-power committee was taken unanimously at the conference of Chief Ministers on Internal Security and Law and Order, convened by the Union Home Ministry, on Friday.

Briefing reporters after the daylong conference during which the Prime Minister, Manmohan Singh, was present throughout and heard the views of all the Chief Ministers, Mr. Patil said the newly-formed committee would meet soon.

It would have Chief Ministers of Andhra Pradesh, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Chattisgarh, Jharkhand, Bihar, Uttaranchal, Orissa and Uttar Pradesh.

"The committee will periodically meet and decide upon the steps to check naxal activity. It will take inputs from the coordination centre, headed by the Union Home Secretary and also take into account socio-economic, developmental and political factors behind the spread of naxal violence,'' Mr. Patil told reporters.

© Copyright 2000 - 2009 The Hindu